Expect More, Achieve More

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon


Dena Risinger, President
Place 7 At Large,

2002 to present

Term Expires 2023


Monty Westbrook, Vice President
District/Place 4,

2016 to present

Term Expires 2025

Ann Kines McDonald,
Place 6 At Large,

2005 to present

Term Expires 2023

Tonya Derrick
District/Place 3,

2021 to present

Term Expires 2024

Nicholas Alford
District/Place 1,
2022 to present
Term Expires 2025

District/Place 5
Reginald Pegram
District/Place 2 

May 2020 to present

Term Expires 2024


Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of seven Board members elected to serve, without compensation, for overlapping terms of three years each. Elections are conducted annually in May. While candidates run for specific places, they do not represent specific geographical areas; rather, each represents TISD at large. Following the annual election, the Board elects a president, vice-president and secretary to serve for one-year terms.


On Thursday, June 23, 2022, the Terrell ISD Board President, Dena Risinger, accepted the resignation of School Board member Channy Ory, who represented Single Member District 5.  The resignation notice was effective on Friday, June 24, 2022.  The Board and TISD offer gratitude for Mrs. Ory’s faithful service to TISD.


Terrell ISD is seeking letters of interest for potential candidates for Single Member District 5 to be appointed by the Board of Trustees at a future date.  The candidate appointed will fulfill this year’s service.  A special election will be held in May 2023 as District 5’s seat expires in 2024 and an appointed candidate may only serve until the next regular election date.  


To be eligible to be a candidate for, or elected or appointed to, the office of school board member, a person must: 


1. Be a United States citizen. 

2. Be 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at the election or on the date of appointment, as applicable. 

3. Have not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote. 

4. Have not been convicted of a felony. 

5. Have resided continuously in the state for 12 months and in the territory from which the office is elected for six months immediately preceding the following date: a. For an independent candidate, the date of the regular filing deadline for a candidate's application for a place on the ballot. b. For a write-in candidate, the date of the election at which the candidate's name is written in. c. For an appointee to an office, the date the appointment is made. 

6. Be registered to vote in the territory from which the office is elected on the date described at item 5, above. 


Election Code 1.020, 141.001(a); Education Code 11.066; Gov’t Code 601.009; Brown v. Patterson, 609 S.W.2d 287 (Tex. Civ. App.—Dallas 1980, no writ); Tex. Const. Art. XVI, Sec. 14


Additionally, to be an eligible candidate for Single Member District 5, a person must reside in District 5. 


Interested candidates should submit their letter of interest to Dr. Georgeanne Warnock, Superintendent of Schools, by Monday, August 1, 2022 by 5:00 p.m. at georgeanne.warnock@terrellisd.org.



School Boards and Superintendent work as a team to lead the District. The "Team of Eight," consisting of the seven-member board of trustees and the Superintendent, work together to guide the Terrell Independent School District towards excellence. The current board members bring diverse backgrounds and expertise into the system and together.



TISD voters elect seven board members to serve three-year staggered terms. Five positions are elected in geographic districts and two trustees are elected at-large. Elections are held annually on the second Saturday in May. The Board establishes educational policies to be executed by the Superintendent of Schools, whose primary responsibility is to provide creative and effective administrative leadership.


The TISD Board of Trustees meets in regular session on the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Administration Office, 700 N. Catherine, or at other designated District sites. Special meetings are held at the Board President's discretion or on request of two or more Board members with 72-hours notice required. Emergency meetings are scheduled when the Board President or two or more members determine an emergency or urgent public necessity exists with two-hours notification required.The official agenda is posted at the Administration Building no later than 72 hours prior to the meeting. The agenda is sent to all campuses, the Terrell Tribune, KYPK, City of Terrell, Chamber of Commerce and posted on this web site.Citizens are welcome to attend meetings of the Board of Trustees. Persons desiring to address the Board may speak on matters other than personnel at the beginning of each regular meeting. The Board allots thirty minutes for public comment. Each speaker will be allowed a maximum of three minutes to speak. Persons with a common message may delegate a spokesperson to speak for their group. Speakers will be recognized in the order their requests are received. Forms to request to speak before the Board are available at the TISD Board Room immediately prior to scheduled meetings.