Expect More, Achieve More

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon


Dena Risinger, President
Place 7 At Large,

2002 to present

Term Expires 2023


Monty Westbrook, Vice President
District/Place 4,

2016 to present

Term Expires 2025

Ann Kines McDonald,
Place 6 At Large,

2005 to present

Term Expires 2023

Tonya Derrick
District/Place 3,

2021 to present

Term Expires 2024

Nicholas Alford
District/Place 1,
2022 to present
Term Expires 2025

Channy Ory
District/Place 5,

2012 to present

Term Expires 2024 

Reginald Pegram
District/Place 2 

May 2020 to present

Term Expires 2024


Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of seven Board members elected to serve, without compensation, for overlapping terms of three years each. Elections are conducted annually in May. While candidates run for specific places, they do not represent specific geographical areas; rather, each represents TISD at large. Following the annual election, the Board elects a president, vice-president and secretary to serve for one-year terms.




School Boards and Superintendent work as a team to lead the District. The "Team of Eight," consisting of the seven-member board of trustees and the Superintendent, work together to guide the Terrell Independent School District towards excellence. The current board members bring diverse backgrounds and expertise into the system and together.



TISD voters elect seven board members to serve three-year staggered terms. Five positions are elected in geographic districts and two trustees are elected at-large. Elections are held annually on the second Saturday in May. The Board establishes educational policies to be executed by the Superintendent of Schools, whose primary responsibility is to provide creative and effective administrative leadership.


The TISD Board of Trustees meets in regular session on the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Administration Office, 700 N. Catherine, or at other designated District sites. Special meetings are held at the Board President's discretion or on request of two or more Board members with 72-hours notice required. Emergency meetings are scheduled when the Board President or two or more members determine an emergency or urgent public necessity exists with two-hours notification required.The official agenda is posted at the Administration Building no later than 72 hours prior to the meeting. The agenda is sent to all campuses, the Terrell Tribune, KYPK, City of Terrell, Chamber of Commerce and posted on this web site.Citizens are welcome to attend meetings of the Board of Trustees. Persons desiring to address the Board may speak on matters other than personnel at the beginning of each regular meeting. The Board allots thirty minutes for public comment. Each speaker will be allowed a maximum of three minutes to speak. Persons with a common message may delegate a spokesperson to speak for their group. Speakers will be recognized in the order their requests are received. Forms to request to speak before the Board are available at the TISD Board Room immediately prior to scheduled meetings.