Terrell ISD is seeking letters of interest for potential candidates for Single Member District Place 2 to be appointed by the Board of Trustees at a future date. The candidate will replace Mr. Reg Pegram who has resigned to focus on his health.  Mr. Pegram’s resignation was accepted by the board on Monday, November 13, 2023.

“We want to express our sincere appreciation for Mr. Pegram’s service to the students and staff of Terrell ISD,” stated Board President Dena Risinger. “Mr. Pegram was a joy to work with, always kept students and staff first and he will be greatly missed. We wish him well.”

The candidate appointed to District Place 2 will fulfill the seat for the duration of the term which expires in May 2024. In May 2024, the Board will hold its regularly scheduled elections which includes Place 2.

To be eligible for the Terrell ISD School board member, a person must:

Be a United States citizen

Be 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at the election or on the date of appointment, as applicable

Have not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote;Have not been convicted of a felony

Have resided continuously in the state for 12 months and in the territory from which the office is elected for six months immediately preceding the following date: a. For an independent candidate, the date of the regular filing deadline for a candidate's application for a place on the ballot. b. For a write-in candidate, the date of the election at which the candidate's name is written in. c. For an appointee to an office, the date the appointment is made.

Be registered to vote in the territory from which the office is elected on the dates described above.

Additionally, to be an eligible candidate for Single Member District 2, a person must reside in District 2. Interested candidates should submit their letter of interest or any questions to Dr. Georgeanne Warnock, Superintendent of Schools, by Friday, December 1, 2023 to